April Fool’s Day

Over the last month I’ve spent a LOT of time reading. Like a lot a lot. Most of the books I’ve been reading are about medieval Europe. I’m not sure why; that’s just how it worked out. Anyway. One of the things I’ve learned from one of these books is that April Fool’s Day came about when the Gregorian Calendar was accepted and changed New Year’s Day from April 1 to January 1. As it turns out, that’s not actually true–probably. The timing of the acceptance of the Gregorian Calendar doesn’t jive with early mentions of April Fool’s Day (Chaucer mentions it in the Canterbury Tales, but the calendar wasn’t accepted in England until the mid-18th century). Regardless, April Fool’s Day is probably tied to early celebrations of the arrival of spring, which always included pranks and mentions of fools.

I’ll stop boring you with my history nerd knowledge, but all of that did have a point and it was this: I hate pranks and practical jokes. Always have. Some are admittedly funny, but generally I think they’re just mean. At least, I think they’re mean when they’re personal. I tend to really enjoy the less personal prank news stories and such. For example, Kindle Author or Burger King’s New Fragrance.  So, you can imagine how amused I was when I popped over to Amazon this morning to order some diapers really cool new product and saw Amazon’s new Dash Button.*

Am I the only one who hates April Fool’s Day pranks? Based on my own research, yes.

But this doesn’t mean that I hate April Fool’s Day. In fact, I really like like it because it’s the anniversary of the day I met Sean. Meeting on April Fool’s Day was, thankfully, not a forecast of how our relationship would turn out. This year is the 9th (!!!) anniversary of our meeting and I still get that fluttery feeling in my stomach when I see him.

IMG_1788

Ah. Young-ish love.

*Apparently, the Dash Button is actually a Thing. I think it’s really neat and have now signed up to hopefully get one. 

Leave a Reply

