On being an introvert

It probably comes as no surprise to most of you to learn that I’m an introvert. In fact, if you’ve been reading the blog for a while you may remember that I’ve mentioned that fact before. Under the very best circumstances, being extremely busy or very social for extended periods of time is exhausting to me.

I realized earlier this week that having a newborn exacerbates my normal introvert tendencies to super-introvert level. I think its because there’s really no alone time when you have a newborn; either the newborn is with you or the toddler is with you or you have visitors (who are hopefully not expecting you to entertain them). Regardless, you’re never alone and if there’s one thing I know about myself its how much I need alone time.

That realization led me to think about being an introvert in general. On one hand, I’m very glad that in the last several years introverts have been getting a lot of attention. Growing up, everyone thought I was shy and a loner. I neither of those, but being categorized that way from an early age shaped my personality. From that perspective, I’m glad that introversion is becoming more widely acknowledged and understood. BUT I also feel like being an introvert is that “cool” thing to be right now. I just want to go on record now as having been an introvert before it was mainstream.

Coincidentally, a few days after those 3 a.m. realizations, I came across a very interesting link on the Modern Mrs. Darcy blog (have you discovered that blog? No? You should totally read it.). The link was to a blog called Introvert, Dear and was to a post about the 4 types of introverts. That’s right. Apparently, there’s not just one kind of introvert. The four types identified are social, thinking, anxious, and restrained. I took the quiz at Scientific American and my type of introversion is thinking. I read the description of thinking introversion and it’s basically a description of me. So, at least for me, the quiz is accurate. Even if it’s not accurate, it’s pretty fun.

One thought on “On being an introvert

  1. Pingback: Spring has sprung! | Falling in Dead Level

Leave a Reply

