Spring cleaning

The suspiciously un-blizzardy weather (I can see the grass!) we’ve been having the last few days has me thinking about spring cleaning.  I want to clean and organize ALL THE THINGS, but since I’m only 10 days postpartum I’ve decided to baby steps (Ha! See what I did there? Baby steps…) and do small tasks for now instead of taking on the BIG ONE (the garage) immediately. I’m going to be reorganizing/cleaning/clearing most areas in my house over the next few months as part of a move to a more minimalist lifestyle, so you’ll probably be reading quite a bit about my “spring” cleaning.

First task is my closet. Why is the closet first? Two reasons. First, I’ve gotten much too comfortable wearing leggings as pants. Don’t misunderstand. I LOVE leggings. Especially when pregnant and postpartum. But I can’t in good conscience keep wearing leggings as pants like 3 times a week.

FullSizeRender

Exhibit A: My outfit today.

Non-legging related reason to start with the closet: Right now I have  3 different wardrobes and that’s 2 too many. I have a regular wardrobe for spring, summer, fall, and winter, a maternity wardrobe for fall and winter, and a postpartum wardrobe for spring/summer. To make matters worse, portions of each are all currently in my closet. It’s a mess.

So, how is this closet spring cleaning going to work? Slowly and in baby steps. First, the maternity wardrobe goes into storage. I’m not sure that I’m finished with it  and 10 days postpartum is too soon to make final decision. Next, I’m taking a good look at the postpartum wardrobe. Obvs this is the wardrobe I’m wearing now and if my experience with Stella is any indication, I’ll be wearing this wardrobe for several months (probably into the early fall or even winter) and will need to add a few pieces. After that, I’ll be going through my regular wardrobe. Even though I won’t be wearing it for a while, I know what I wore and what I really didn’t and can go ahead and pare it down before I actually start wearing it again. Finally, I’m going to edit my accessories. Shoes, jewelry, bags, etc. I have tons of accessories because I’ve always had the mentality that more options are better than fewer options. Now it’s time to face facts: at this point in my life, more options overwhelm me and I can’t decide which pair of red shoes I should wear and just end up wearing black instead.

The end goal of all of this is a capsule wardrobe. I’m really drawn to the idea of a capsule wardrobe because, as I mentioned with the accessories, I don’t really have the time or energy to have a lot of clothing options right now. I want to be able to reach into my closet and know that whatever I pull out is going to go together.  I’m doing this with the stylebook app and my Breastfeeding Friendly Closet pinterest board (because for the next 2 years or so my wardrobe also has to be breastfeeding friendly).

Things got rolling today when I started gathering up maternity clothes (minus my favorite Old Navy tanks which have made the leap from maternity to full-time wardrobe) for storage. Tomorrow I’m planning to pull the postpartum wardrobe from storage and begin the process of adding it to stylebook and evaluating what I need to add to it. Of course, all of this is contingent on a newborn so things may or may not go according to plan. This is going to be a long process (probably), but I’ll provide updates to let you know how/if its working out along the way.

One thought on “Spring cleaning

  1. Pingback: Hello, Morning! | Falling in Dead Level

Leave a Reply

