Who interrupts my slumber?

Confession time: when Stella was born I never really had a period of sleep deprivation. I mean, for the first three weeks of her life the days and nights ran together with really no separation at all, but I slept whenever she did. So, while I may not have known whether it was 5pm or 5am, I wasn’t actually that sleepy, just confused.

20130731-090722.jpg

Once she got her days and nights sorted out, it was smooth sailing. Sure, she woke up at night, but she went back to sleep quickly and I just napped with her during the day to make up for lost sleep. Then, miraculously, when she was about 6 weeks old, she started sleeping through the night. There have been a few hiccups since then. She doesn’t like sleeping unswaddled and now prefers sleeping with us to sleeping alone. Generally, though, Stella loves sleeping as much as we do.

20130731-090811.jpg

Fast forward to today. Stella is six months old and I think I’m finally getting a taste of that infamous newborn sleep deprivation. Today is morning two of me waking up after only getting three hours of sleep a night. I know, I know it’s only two nights. But, seriously. This sucks.

20130731-090834.jpg

I’m too tired to think of a clever ending or even just a conclusory sentence, so I’ll just end with a question. Anyone have any idea why my formerly sleep loving baby has suddenly decided sleep is the devil and can only happen in hour long increments during the night?

20130731-090918.jpg

One thought on “Who interrupts my slumber?

  1. Maybe it’s due to the 6 month growth spurt? Things always get wacky after a growth spurt. My son stopped napping well after his 4 month growth spurt and is finally getting back to a decent napping routine, a month later. Hope Stella’s sleeping gets back to normal a lot sooner!

Leave a Reply

