Five Months

Guys. It’s been five months (and a little more) since Stella was born.

DSCN0226Stella’s first time in her high chair 

Being a parent is awesome and overwhelming and hard and easy and wonderful and terrible and… all that and more all at once. Most of the time I’m in awe that I made a person and that that person is not a tiny baby any more. I mean, she is a tiny baby (even now at 5 months she only weighs a little more than 12 pounds) but she’s learning things and developing her own personality. It’s hard to accept and amazing to realize that she’s not just an extension of me. That she is actually an individual.

So what does this little individual like to do? She likes to grab things. She likes to put everything in her mouth all the time. She likes sitting up and rolling over and “petting” the dog.  She likes to make noise and she loves going for walks.

DSCN0233

Most of all, though, she likes me. Don’t misunderstand. She likes Sean too, but I don’t think there’s any dispute that I’m her favorite.

DSCN0239

Oh. And she love love loves her foot. Loves. It.

I’m simultaneously shocked that Stella is already 5 months old and shocked that she’s only five months old. She’s changed so much in these five months. She’s gone from a sleepy little new born to a wide awake active infant. Sigh. Excuse me while I go play with my infant and mourn the newborn she used to be.

 

Leave a Reply

