Working on my fitness: Postpartum edition

Baby S. was born a little over seven weeks ago (feels more like seven minutes ago…) and, I have to admit, it took me a few weeks to get back into an exercise routine. Before I was pregnant and even during pregnancy, I had a 7 day a week exercise habit. I mean, I’ve never been super buff or anything, but every day I did yoga and/or some sort of cardio for at least an hour. The day before I went into labor I walked 2 miles and had a nice hour long yoga practice.

That was the last time I did yoga or anything resembling exercise (other than birthing a baby) for three weeks.

After Baby S. was born days and nights blended together for a while and I just didn’t realize how much time was passing for a while. Then when I finally did realize it had been two weeks since I’d done anything other than play with the baby, I was a little too sore to do anything too strenuous. Since my body was tight and tense, I felt like I needed to do something anyway so I found a postnatal yoga class focusing on shoulder and heart opening. Even though it was only a 20 minute long sequence, that practice was an important milestone for me. It’s what brought be out of my postpartum haze and reminded me that even though I’m a mom now, I’m still me.

Since then, I’ve had a goal of doing yoga or taking a walk everyday. Why? It’s not about losing weight; I’ve already lost 25 of the 30 pounds I gained during pregnancy. Nope, this is mainly about being healthy and making time for myself. It doesn’t work out all the time, but that’s okay. It’s a work in progress. So, for accountability, I’m doing a 30 day fitness challenge. Everyday for 30 days I’ll do some sort of fitness activity for at least 30 minutes. I won’t kid myself and say I’ll blog about it everyday (I think we all know that’s not going to happen), but I will post a summary once a week.

IMG_0650Me and Baby S out for a walk earlier this week. 

The main problem (other than time) with working out after having a baby is that my strength hasn’t fully returned yet. My body is healing but not fully healed yet. My midwife gave me the okay to start exercising again, but said to take it slow. Any suggestions for postpartum exercise?

 

One thought on “Working on my fitness: Postpartum edition

  1. Swimming is fun! If you have access to a pool, I’ve come to love it and you get a lot out of just a 30 minute workout. I did a TRX class (suspension bands) recently and that’s a good challenge, but it’s not crazy either, and it focused on upper body and core training.

    Glad everything is going so well for you and the baby 🙂

Leave a Reply

