30 Day Yoga Challenge Days 8, 9, and 10

Wow. I am really really bad at the blogging part of this challenge. Like super bad. Sorry!

Life got in the way again. In addition to work, which was a little crazy the latter part of this week, I’ve also been spending time evaluating day cares (I can’t believe that’s a thing I’m already doing!), reading (for fun and education), exercising, doing yoga, and practicing hynobabies. Since I’m usually at the office until 6 and try to go to bed between 10 and 11, I have a pretty packed schedule in the evenings. Unfortunately, from Wednesday on of this week it was too packed to update the ol’ blog.

But. Don’t let the super busy schedule fool you. I didn’t wholly fail on the challenge. I still fit in yoga every single day. Yay! I did fail on the photo part of the challenge, but really I blame S. for that. I think I’m going to try a new yoga picture method and just get him to photograph me doing an entire sequence one day so I’ll have a stash of photos to use. I know. That’s not what the challenge was but sometimes you have to reevaluate and change plans as you go and, I think, this is one of those times.

Enough of my ramblin’ on. It’s Saturday morning and, imagine that, I’ve got a pretty packed day ahead of me. Today, some of my amazing family members are coming over to help with painting the baby’s room! I’m so excited and grateful that I’m making homemade pumpkin cinnamon rolls for everyone if I ever finish this post… So here we go with the yoga.

Day 8: Wednesday October 17, 2012

I had every intention of waking up early and doing a nice morning practice. Mornings are quickly becoming my favorite time to practice–they’re just so quiet and serene feeling.  That didn’t happen and I had a fairly stressful day at work. Thinking back now, I can’t remember what made it so stressful (that should give you some idea of how important whatever the stress was actually was), but I do distinctly remember sitting in my office around 11 am wondering why my neck was killing me and realizing it was because I was so tense that my shoulders were waaaay up around my ears. I took a couple of deep breaths and made a conscious effort to roll them back and down. It helped (not with the stress, but with the neck pain) and I remembered to do that a couple of more times throughout the day.

For my actual yoga practice on Wednesday night, I did a quick 20 minute-ish practice with a few down dogs, chest openers, light twists, and a lot of hip work. My hips are really sore and tight these days, not so much so that I feel the need to complain about it, but enough that I feel the need to stretch them at any given opportunity.

Day 9: Thursday October 18, 2012

Thursday started out the right way. With yoga. That’s right, I got up and did a nice morning practice again. These really are the best. Not only do they feel calm and leisurely, they’re also very energizing and really set a nice calm, un-frenzied tone for the day. The practice I did was a yogaglo.com sequence that I’ve done before but really love for a morning practice. The best thing about this practice, though, wasn’t the practice itself, but how I felt all day long because of the practice. Thursday should have, by all rights been, a much more stressful day than Wednesday was. But it wasn’t and I really think that’s because of the morning yoga.

Day 10: Friday October 19, 2012

Friday morning I had planned, once again, to get in a yoga practice. But I worked until almost midnight on Thursday (aaannnddd that’s why Thursday should have been more stressful than Wednesday), so I was too tired to get up at 6:30 for some yoga. Instead I slept that half an hour away and don’t regret it.one.bit. Yesterday was a full day too; There was a lot going on at work (lots of deadlines for one day) and after work I had paint party prep to do.

Finally, last night around 10, I made time for a quick 20 minute yoga practice.  The details of the practice are basically the same as Wednesday though I also added in more hamstring stretches. After last night, I have to say if there’s one thing that I may like just as much as morning yoga, it’s late night yoga followed by hypnobabies. I was so relaxed that I fell asleep pretty much the minute my head hit the pillow (I have frequent insomnia, so that’s a kind of a big deal).

That’s your yoga update!

You can catch up on previous posts, here. And while you’re doing that (and whatever else your Saturday morning might consist of) I’m off to make some pumpkin cinnamon rolls!

Happy Saturday!

5 thoughts on “30 Day Yoga Challenge Days 8, 9, and 10

  1. Your approach is still on track because even with your busy schedule, you made time for yourself–even if it wasn’t as long as you would’ve liked:)

  2. Pingback: 30 day yoga challenge: Days 11, 12, and 13 | Falling in Dead Level

Leave a Reply

