Reflections on The Bar Exam

In case you’ve been living on another planet (or know no one who’s a lawyer, law student, recent law school grad), bar exam results are finally being released across the country. This past Friday, Kentucky  released its results (like two weeks sooner than my results were released three years (!)). Even though it’s been three years since I found out my results, I remember how terrible that day was.

Spoiler alert: I passed. BUT  for the months, weeks, days, and the entire morning leading up the posting of results (in a horribly public manner), I was convinced, totally and completely convinced, that I had failed. In fact, I spent those months, weeks, days, and the morning before the results were posted trying to figure out how I was going to break the news to everyone that I failed. I was convinced that, other than having to retake the bar (something I’m honestly not sure I would have done), spreading the word that I hadn’t passed would be the worst thing that had ever happened to me.

Even though it turned out that I didn’t need to break that news, I was faced with a slightly less awkward task in the next few weeks and months. Talking to my friends who hadn’t been as lucky as I was (and yes, I think no matter what anyone says, passing or not passing the bar is due in part to a large dose of luck). Maybe it was because I had been so convinced that I had failed. Maybe I had a bit of bar exam survivors guilt. Who knows? Whatever the cause, I felt awkward talking to people I knew hadn’t passed.

All of this to say this: a friend of mine who didn’t pass on her first time, just posted a bit of advice for those unlucky ones. If you have ever taken the bar exam, regardless of the result, or know someone who has or might in the future, you should read it. She does a great job of summing up every.single.fear I had about not passing and then telling you what the reality is: It doesn’t matter whether you pass on the first time. Really. Once you pass, you’re a lawyer and that’s all that matters.

P.S. I just realized I wrote a post last year about the bar and promised it would be my last ever. Apparently I suck at promises. Sorry.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

