Black Bean Taco Bake

Remember yesterday when I said I would be posting a lot of the recipes I mentioned? Yeah. This isn’t one of those.

Monday night I really wanted something cheesy with black beans (imagine that), so I made up this black bean taco bake. It really hit the spot and was pretty delicious, if I do say so myself, so I decided to share. I’m going to get to the recipe, but before you get started you should make sure that you have some taco seasoning on hand or, if you don’t, make your own. Personally, I don’t buy taco seasoning since I found Alton Brown’s Taco Seasoning Recipe. It’s a great mix, but I’ve been making my own recipe using his as a base for a few months now. Here’s my recipe:

Martha’s Taco Seasoning Mix

Ingredients

2 tablespoons chili powder
1 tablespoon ground cumin
2 teaspoons arrowroot powder (you can use cornstarch, but I never seem to have any)
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Method

Put all the ingredients into a jar ow bowl with a lid and shake it all up.
Et viola! Taco seasoning.

Now that you definitely have taco seasoning, here’s the recipe for the taco bake:

Black Bean Taco Bake

Ingredients

1 can black beans
2 bell peppers (I had one green and one red)
1/2 large red onion (or 1 small red onion)
1 clove garlic
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons salsa (whatever kind you want)
3-4 tablespoons taco seasoning
1/2 cup water
tortilla shells
2 cups sharp cheddar cheese (or however much you want)

Accoutrements

Avocado or guacamole
green onions
tomato (fresh)
lettuce
salsa
lime

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. Put large skillet with olive oil on medium heat
  3. Dice the peppers, onion, and garlic
  4. Add peppers, onion, and garlic
  5. While the peppers, onion, and garlic are sauteing, prep your accoutrements (i.e. chop the green onions and tomato)
  6. After the peppers and onions have a bit of color on them, add the black beans and salsa and cook for a minute or two
  7. Add the taco seasoning (I did 4 tablespoons, but 3 might be good for you)
  8. Give the mix a good stir and let it cook for about 1 minute
  9. Add the water and deglaze the pan a bit (get the caramelized bits of peppers and seasoning from the bottom)
  10. Cook for about 5 minutes or until the water is mostly gone (you want a wet but not soupy consistency)
  11. While that’s cooking, get out a 9X13 baking dish (no need to oil it)
  12. Add the peppers, onions, garlic, taco seasoning mix to the baking dish and top with cheese.
  13. Pop into the oven for 10-15 minutes or until the cheese is bubbling.
  14. If you like your tortilla shells warm, use this 10-15 minutes to do that
  15. Remove baking dish, use the cheesy mixture as filling for your taco shells, and dress using whatever accoutrements you like

I should mention that you can add whatever you want into the peppers, onion, garlic base. I really wanted some corn in there, but didn’t have any on hand. I served these with a guacamole/salsa dip (just gauc and salsa mixed together) and fried up some ham with taco seasoning for S.’s tacos (sounds weird, but he said it was pretty good). If you have any other suggestions, let me know!

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Black Bean Taco Bake

Leave a Reply

