Working on my fitness: Pregnancy Edition

You might remember, if you follow me on twitter or have been reading the blog for a while, that I like to run. You might also have noticed that I haven’t been talking about it lately. There’s one reason and one reason only for that.

I stopped.

It’s a shame really. I really really enjoyed it, it was cheap, and it was definitely improving my fitness. So, you might be wondering, why did I stop? Well friends, I got pregnant. Before you say anything (or stop reading), let me say this: I know that there’s no reason you can’t run while pregnant. No reason whatsoever. In fact, everything I’ve read and been told says you should continue running while pregnant as long as you did it before.

So, you’re probably wondering, knowing all that why did I stop? Because not long after I realized I was pregnant, it got really, mind-blowingly, ridiculously hot here in Kentucky. And you know what’s not fun when you feel really nauseated all the time? Being really hot, too. I tried running in the mornings, but, you know what, it was really hot then, too. I tried running on the treadmill and, yep, you guessed it; that was really hot too. After a few weeks, I just gave it up.

When the full-time nausea passed, I wanted to start again but wasn’t sure if I should run in the heat (which, for those of you not in Kentucky, lasted approximately forever). So, I held off again. Now that it’s finally starting to cool down, I’ve been eager to start up again. But, I held off. I was afraid that since I hadn’t run in like 3 months that I wouldn’t be able to because it would be like starting a new exercise program while pregnant (apparently, this is a no-no).

Please note: This is not me. I just think this is a super cute shirt and I want it. 

Last week at my first appointment with the new midwife (who I love, btw), I asked if it was okay to start running again. After some preliminary questions and strict instructions to stay hydrated, keep my heart rate under 140, and, for the love of god, not to fall, I got cleared to run again. Yesterday, to celebrate the fall-ish weather we’ve had this weekend, I went on my first run in several months. And  you know what?

It was hard.

Really hard. I’m not sure if the pregnancy part or the not running in three months part was the culprit, but that was rough. I only did about 2.5 miles and it took at least 35 minutes. Even though it was really hard, I’m glad I did it. I felt great afterward and I plan to continue.

I guess running while pregnant is like everything else while pregnant. It’s different.  I’m slowly learning to not beat myself up when I can’t do the things I could do before. To accept that sometimes it’s just going to take me a little bit longer than normal. And to know that that’s perfectly okay.

3 thoughts on “Working on my fitness: Pregnancy Edition

  1. I think it is great that you are addressing this topic! Many pregnant women are a little worried with exercise and they just need to know to take it easier then before. I am 3 months pregnant and have been fortunate to not be too sick and have been able to run 1-2 miles two times a week but it is TUFF. It is much different working out while pregnant then not. You have to like you brought up, stay hydrated, watch your heart rate and most importantly LISTEN to your body. Great blog!!

  2. Pingback: Workin’ on my fitness: Prenatal Yoga | Falling in Dead Level

Leave a Reply

