Perfect Late-Summer Brunch

I don’t know about you, but I love a good brunch. Breakfast food is pretty much my favorite food, so any meal that allows me to eat breakfast or a breakfast-ish meal is my favorite. Last week, when we were in the midst of a glorious three day weekend, seemed like a great time to make some brunch. So, of course, I turned to my pinterest boards for inspiration. (Do you follow me on pinterest? You should.)

After much pinteresting, and because I had an abundance of green beans ( not my favorite) and basil ( my favorite), I decided to make green beans with pesto topped with a poached egg. Now, I didn’t exactly follow the recipe. It sounds lovely and I’m actually going to try it later today, but I didn’t have the necessary ingredients (like parsley). Here’s my version:

Green Beans with Pesto & Poached Egg

Ingredients:

Green Beans (duh): about 1/2 pound

Basil: about a cup

Olive Oil

Pine Nuts: about a 1/4 cup

Parmesan: to taste (about a 1/3 cup for me)

1 clove garlic

Balsamic vinegar

Salt and Pepper to taste

2 eggs

Method:

1. Trim the green beans (and string them if necessary)

2. Put about a half inch of water (with salt!) and about a teaspoon of balsamic vinegar into a large skillet and bring to a boil.

3. Bring large pot of water (with salt!) and about a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar to a boil.

4. For the pesto: Add basil, pamesan, garlic, and pine nuts to food processor. Pulse a couple of times until a little paste-y. Add olive oil until the pesto starts to pull away from the sides. Note: I didn’t have any lemons, but a bit of lemon juice would be fabulous.

5. Add the green beans to the boil water in the large skillet. Cook for about 5 minutes (you want them to be crisp-tender), pull out, and shock with some cold water. (Shocking is usually done my dunking them in ice water; I was lazy so I just used really cold water).

6. Poach the eggs. (There’s lots of advice for poaching eggs. Here’s mine: Wait until the water has just started boiling (not a rolling boil), crack the eggs into a ramekin or small bowl, hold the ramekin just above the water and slowly drop the egg in.)

7. While the eggs are poaching (that should take 2-3 minutes), mix the green beans and pesto and plate that.

8. Put the eggs on top of the green bean/pesto mixture. Sprinkle a bit of parm on top.

9. Enjoy!

I should also mention that I served this with a bit of crusty garlic bread and a ham steak (for S.) and it was delicious. In fact, our only complaint was that we didn’t have enough for seconds!

UPDATE: Thanks to Tammy for reminding me that I took a picture of this meal! Pregnancy brain is real, folks. And sometimes it makes you forget that you meant to include the crappy iphone picture you took of a delicious meal in your blog post.

2 thoughts on “Perfect Late-Summer Brunch

Leave a Reply

