Winter is coming!

This has been the summer that never ends.I know it’s only August, but I feel like summer started in March and has been going strong since. I’m not summer’s biggest fan, a fact that I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, and, to tell you the truth, I’ve been feeling disheartened because I had become convinced that summer was actually never going to end.

Then, this morning I woke up, got ready to walk the bear dogs, and checked the temperature. It was 55 degrees. Yes. That’s Fahrenheit. I can’t tell you how much more energized that made me feel.  There’s a light at the end of this never-ending summer. I celebrated with a longer than normal dog walk and my favorite fall/winter breakfast.

The Bear Dogs preparing to bolt after a squirrel

You might remember that I made crock pot steel cut oatmeal once last winter. It was ugly, but delicious and definitely something I recommend when you want to wake up to breakfast. Since then I’ve been sparing myself the horribleness of cleaning cooked on oats out of a crock pot and just making it on the stove top. It’s just a delicious, a lot less ugly, and pretty easy. Here’s the method:

1. Round up your ingredients. I use soy milk, steel cut oats (obviously), craisins, walnuts, and apple pie spice.

2. Follow the directions on your steel cut oats for time and ratio of milk to oats. I always add the craisins in while the milk is boiling so that they get all plump and juicy. I also add a couple of sprinkles (maybe a 1/4 tsp) of apple pie spice at this stage.

3. After about 20 minutes, it’s done! Just dole it out into bowls, add some walnuts (or whatever nuts you have), a drizzle of honey, and enjoy!

All in all, this has been the perfect fall preview morning. Hope yours was too!

Leave a Reply

