Braised Celery

A couple of weeks ago, my husband had dinner with my sister-in-law and couldn’t stop talking about how awesome it was. Which was actually pretty hurtful, since I cook a lot and  he never raves about how awesome my food is.  Note: This is mainly due to the fact that the Hubby thinks any meal that doesn’t consist of meat and two sides isn’t a meal. Or tasty. 

With that background, I was surprised (and hurt) when I found out the meal he had been raving about was basically vegetarian. Sigh.

R. told me yesterday where to find the recipe and, surprise, surprise, I had all the ingredients except three. Hubby picked up those three on the way home and by 6:30 this evening, I was making Braised Celery with Parmesan Polenta. I had to make a couple of changes to make it vegetarian (substitute veggie broth for chicken, no cooking the bacon and celery in the same pot), but despite that it was  really really easy to make. It took about half an hour start to finish.

And the verdict is… Great! This dish was absolutely fantastic and I completely understand why the Hubby kept talking it up. I basically never want to eat anything other than Parmesan polenta ever again.

Thanks for tip, R.!

One thought on “Braised Celery

Leave a Reply

