Crockpot Oatmeal

Yesterday I was browsing the interwebs for vegetarian crockpot recipes when I started finding recipes for oatmeal made overnight in the crockpot. I really like oatmeal a lot, so I was intrigued. I settled on Alton Brown‘s  Overnight Oatmeal recipe because, well, when has Alton Brown ever steered me wrong?

The recipe is super simple and takes about 5 minutes to put together. It consists of steel cut oats (which I bought on a trip to hell, aka Wal-Mart, yesterday), water, half and half (or milk, if you forgot to buy half and half), craisins, and dried figs (or apples if you have no figs). All you do is put all that into the crockpot, turn it on low for 9 hours, and go to sleep.

And then, when you wake up you have this:

And you think, “Oh God. It’s finally happened. Alton Brown has led me astray.” And then you think, “How in the hell am I going to get burnt cooked on oatmeal out of my crockpot?” And finally you think, “Maybe I should give it a stir and try it anyway.”

So you give it a stir and try it even though it looks like something out of a Dickens’ novel.

And that ‘s when you discover that this stuff is delicious! It looked seriously unappetizing but it is amazing. The steel cut oats retained a little crunch and the craisins and dried apples got all plump and juicy.

There’s really no other way to describe this other than delicious and amazingly convenient. Waking up to find breakfast (and coffee) waiting for me, was particularly awesome. That being said, I’ll definitely be working on this dish to find a way to make it so that it doesn’t look quite so gross.

One thought on “Crockpot Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Winter is coming! | Falling in Dead Level

Leave a Reply

