Pumpkin Spice Latte

I’ve made no secret of my love for Starbucks, but I generally don’t like the syrupy sweet specialty drinks. I make an exception every fall, or as I like to call it Pumpkin Spice Latte season. Of course, I make it my own by ordering a pumpkin spice flavored cafe au lait. In starbucks parlance, what is a pretty simple drink (coffee, milk, and pumpkin spice syrup), becomes a 10 step ordering process which makes me feel kinda like a giant douche bag. And no one likes to feel like that.

So you can imagine how excited I was to find a tweet from Greenderlla with a link to a homemade pumpkin spice latte. I tried it out yesterday morning and I have to say, it’s pretty freaking delicious!

Click through the link for the full recipe, but there are only like 5 ingredients in this recipe:

Milk (any kind will do–I used vanilla soy)

Pumpkin puree

Pumpkin pie spice

Agave nectar (you could use honey too)

Vanilla extract (I omitted because of the vanilla soymilk).

It was super easy to make. All you do is combine all the ingredients and whip them together. I used the whisk attachment for my stick blender (for the first time!) and was surprised to learn that it makes some pretty awesome froth.

The best thing about this recipe, other than it’s complete deliciousness, is how cheap it was. I had all the ingredients other than pumpkin puree, so basically I only spent like 88 cents more than I would have for my regular homemade coffee.

Have a delicious Sunday!

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Latte

  1. Thanks for making it and blogging about it! I’d love it if you left a comment on my post saying you made it & enjoyed it if you have a second. If not, no worries! Glad you tried it & it was a hit! 🙂

  2. Pingback: This is not a real post… | Falling in Dead Level

Leave a Reply

