Summertime Smoothies

Smoothies are pretty much my favorite summertime snack. I like them year round, but a smoothie on a summer afternoon is bliss in a glass.

Bliss in a Glass!

I started drinking/making smoothies the summer that I studied in Paris. Our study abroad group was instructed to eat yogurt regularly before we went so that the active cultures would help protect us from any foreign bacteria. At that time I (weirdly) didn’t like yogurt at all. (I think it was texture thing). So I started making myself smoothies with yogurt in them everyday for a month or so before we went. When I got back, the tradition continued.

Afternoon Smoothie. 

Since I love them so much, I thought I’d share my super easy recipe.

Ingredients

Orange Juice (or whatever juice you like) 1/4 Cup-ish

Frozen Fruit (whatever you like) 1/2-1 cup-ish

Yogurt (vanilla for sweetness) 1/2-3/4 cup-ish

Method

1. Get out your blender

2. Put the OJ (or whatever juice you like; I like the citrus for some acidity but Hubby prefers apple) in the blender

3. Add the Frozen Fruit

4.  Add the yogurt (if you have plain, put some honey in as well)

5. Blend until smooth. (If it’s too thick, add some more juice)

Et voila! Delicious smoothie. I’m sure you noticed that the measurements are not so much measure-y. That’s because I don’t really measure things. Unless I’m baking. That’s the only time it’s necessary, in my opinion. Anyway just use the measurements as a guide and do what seems delicious. You can’t really make a smoothie bad.

Enjoy and Happy Summer!

Leave a Reply

