It’s not trespassing if it’s for yoga. Right? RIGHT?

In case you’re not initimately connected with my comings and goings, I spent this long weekend visiting my mother-in-law. These weekends are few and far between because (1) there’s just not enough three day weekends in the year and (2) she lives three and a half hours from us. This weekend we timed our visit to coincide with R.’s visit. Which makes for more fun and a house absolutely bursting with living beings… four people and two dogs large enough to be people. 

A house so full means no room for yoga. And you can’t NOT do yoga when you’re visiting your mother-in-law, amiright? (I kid. We actually get along well) Anywho, R. and I took our yoga outside Sunday morning.  …Only to realize pretty immediately that it was HOT outside. And there was no shade anywhere in the yard. But, right next door, there was a nice flat shady spot by a small stream.

20110530-102047.jpg

 My tree pose view.

It only took about 30 seconds for us to decide the neighbors probably wouldn’t mind us doing yoga in their backyard. For the record, these are not the same neighbors who thought I was muslim last time I did yoga in the backyard.  So, we took our mats and my iphone and made ourselves at home.

 20110530-102109.jpg

Our yoga space. I LOVE how we arranged our mats.

It turns out that trespassing to do yoga was a great idea… Also I’m pretty sure the neighbors were at church and never knew we were there. We did a yoga journal podcast using my phone. 20110530-102025.jpg

This was my ceiling.

It was a great practice, although the podcast teacher’s cues could have used a little work. Towards the end we just did seated poses we wanted to because we couldn’t figure out what he was describing.  

20110530-102016.jpg

R. after savasana

Despite the podcast’s shortcomings, it was an awesome practice. Practicing outside is really zen and makes you feel connected to everything.

20110530-102032.jpg

My chaturanga view.

 Yesterday’s practice was so great that I really want to do it again. Alas, it’s already really really hot out, so I don’t think it’s going to happen.

But. I’m not going to let that ruin my Memorial Day. I’m planning lots of other super fun stuff. More about that later… in the meantime, enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “It’s not trespassing if it’s for yoga. Right? RIGHT?

Leave a Reply

