Practice at Home

I know I’ve said this before, but it’s worth saying again: Having a home yoga practice is hard.

I’ve been practicing yoga for almost 10 years and I have never, repeat never, had a steady practice at home. The closest I’ve ever come is when I first started practicing with my Denise Austen video and a towel for a mat. That lasted about 6 months until I went to college and started going to group yoga classes at the Wellness Center.

Well, I’ve recently began trying, once again, to establish the illusive home practice. With a job that require long hours at the office, its hard to make it to class on time. So I did a little online research and decided to give yogatoday.com a try. It’s 10 bucks for a month of unlimited streaming and the classes have been pretty good. If you’re interested in a 2-week free trial, shoot me an email at marthaisbliss@gmail.com with “I love free yoga!” in the subject line–I’ll send you the link and the password you need.*

*I’m not actually sure how this works, but yogatoday tells me it does. Somehow. 

Anyway, so I’ve got a Yoga Today membership and I’m trying the at home practice thing. It’s going pretty well. I’m averaging about 3 classes per week. 3 times a weeks is actually really well considering my injury. Which brings me to the downside of the home practice. I got my injury while I was doing this class, Bird of Paradise: Part One. The bad part about a home practice is that there is no one there to correct your alignment. I don’t think my alignment was off in this case, though. I think in the case of my injury, I just went beyond the edge of my flexibility.

After about 6 weeks of home practice, here are my four tips:

1. Make a home for your practice. It doesn’t have to be fancy, but it does need to be comfortable and free of distractions.

2. Know your level. If you’re a beginner, don’t try to do complicated poses–it’s discouraging. Stick to the basics.

3. Know your boundaries. There’s a difference between stretch and pain. Learn it and don’t go into pain.

4. Make time. You’re going to be tired and feel like you don’t have time–ignore this impulse and make time.

If you have a regular home practice, please let me know any of tips.

In other news, apparently I blogged yesterday. I love how I forget that I schedule things to post. If you missed it, give it a read and then give me your thoughts on meditation.

One thought on “Practice at Home

  1. Pingback: Good Morning Yoga « Falling in Dead Level

Leave a Reply

