Meditations on Meditation

I think I may have mentioned this before, but me and mediation are not best friends. In fact, I hate it a little.  This post from the Eco Yogini, reminded me of that this morning.

I generally have a lot of nervous energy. I’m not sure if this is a result of my chosen profession, a result of being extremely busy for the last 10 years of my life (college, law school, bar exam), or maybe it’s just me. Point is, whenever I try to meditate I get antsy. I’m getting better at it, but it’s still really hard.

Because of my generally antsy nature, the most meditative times that I have are during intense (read: lots of flow and movement) yoga practices. I think it’s completly possible to have a fulfilling yoga practice without meditation, but sometimes, on days when I’m feeling really tired, yucky, and disconnected meditation feels right. When those days come (about once a month or so), I either take a yoga class that I know will include a guided meditation or I google “guided meditation audio” and do one at home.

I have to admit, even though I really really dislike meditation, there are times when trying it feels really great. So maybe give it a try next time you’re feeling down.

Me demonstrating a kundalini meditation technique… bear dog’s ear on the right side of my head

One thought on “Meditations on Meditation

  1. Pingback: Practice at Home « Falling in Dead Level

Leave a Reply

