Earth Week: Happy Earth Day!

It’s finally here. Earth Day! Yay!

I’ve always been a fan of Earth Day. When I was a kid, it was the day/week when our school projects focused on conservation, recycling, and community clean-up. I mean actual community clean up. This was the time of year when we made it a point to clean up all the trash that had collected around the community throughout the year. As I got older, it became less about learning about saving the environment and a bit more commercial. It wasn’t until college that I started volunteering for community clean up projects again. I’m not entirely sure why I enjoy picking up litter so much, but it just makes me feel really awesome.

Lately, while I still love Earth Day and the focus it puts on the environment, it seems a little commercial. There’s all the Earth Day deals, like free coffee at Starbucks. Disillusionment with Earth Day has been all over my twitter feed (follow me!) and one of my favorite blogs, The Green Phone Booth, also posted about this topic.

So all this made me think: Is Earth Day overrated? Does it still serve it’s purpose of drawing attention to our environmental issues? And, most importantly, do I sound like Carrie Bradshaw right now? Cause I’m not really okay with that.

Leave a Reply

