Earth Week: Office Gardening

20110420-023340.jpgBonsai 

First of all, BIG thanks to all the new people who visited the blog in the last couple of days. More people visited yesterday than any other day in the history of this blog. Welcome new readers, I hope you enjoy it!

And now, a brief look into my foray into having an office garden. And how it is unexpectedly going very badly.

I like nature and I’ve always enjoyed growing things. I think I might be the only 7 year old in history who had her own rose garden and loved it so much I asked for new rose plants and gardening paraphernalia as presents.  Naturally, when I got my first my-girl job and my first real office one of the first things I did was buy myself some live plants for my office. At first, when I worked for the judge, I only had a couple. When I started my current job, I got a bigger office and more windows, so I got more plants. Over the last year I’ve accumulated 4 more office plants to “liven” up my office. And it was going pretty well….

20110420-023347.jpgA partial view of my office garden

Back in November my grandmother passed away. I was out of the office for the better part of a week and when I came back my office garden was a little wilted, but nothing a little TLC wouldn’t fix. And then I got a delivery from 1800Flowers. My mother-in-law, sister-in-law, and soon-to-be brother-in-law, sent me a sympathy bonsai holly bush. I. was. stoked. It was super cute! But as the months passed, it seemed less and less… alive. No matter how much I watered it (or how little) or how much miracle grow I put on it, it kept withering.  Eventually, I accepted that it was dead (and it was really really really dead, people) and that I had failed.Last week I took my dead bonsai home.

The rest of my garden and the bonsai’s former home

So now I’m in the market for a new bonsai, but they are surprisingly hard to find. If anyone knows where I can get one in Lexington let me know.

What was the point of this again?

Oh yeah! Indoor air quality.

I read somewhere (I promise it was a reputable source) at some point (semi-recently) that in most normal homes the air quality indoors is worse than the air outside and that having indoor plants can help filter the air and make it healthier. You might be wondering what sort’s of pollutants are possibly in your home. According to the EPA it could be anything from radon and  carbon monoxide to VOC’s and mold. Of course all of this can make you pretty sick, so you want to try to improve the air quality as much as possible. House plants won’t solve all your problems, but they do help.

Added bonus: house plants also make things more lively!

Leave a Reply

