Earth Week: Don’t buy useless crap

20110419-092703.jpg

I came across this on my daily stop at Starbucks (don’t judge!) this morning. It’s a Via brewer. Via is the Starbucks brand instant coffee. I’m not a huge fan of instant coffee at all, but this is  better than most. It’ll do in a pinch. That’s not to say I would ever advocate buying a special brewer for your instant coffee. It’s instant coffee. All you do is add hot water. That’s all. And if you don’t have time to put a teapot on the stove or warm some water in a microwave you don’t have time for instant coffee.

“How does this post fit into earth week?”‘ you ask. In my mind, going green is best summed up in the old phrase “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle.” And not buying this useless piece of crap instant coffee “brewer” falls into the reduce category. If people stop buying crap they don’t need, like this “brewer”, there will be a gradual decline in resources used to produce all that useless crap. Using fewer resources is good for the Earth… I think you can probably make the leap to how this fits into my Earth Week theme from here.

3 thoughts on “Earth Week: Don’t buy useless crap

  1. Seriously. I don’t understand this “Keeping up with the Joneses” mentality in the US. It doesn’t matter if we actually need something, we just keep buying and buying and buying. It’s utterly ridiculous. I guarantee it’s faster to heat up a teapot of water on the stove than it is for that “brewer” to make hot water. Just buy an electric kettle for you’re THAT hard up for time. haha

  2. I too was going to suggest the electric kettle or a water boiler. We are crazy diehard tea drinkers in our house. I got a Zojirushi Water Boiler from Teavana for Christmas, and most definitely scoffed at first since there was really nothing wrong with my old kettle other than it’s too-small size. Then I plugged it in, and it played a song when the water was at the temperature that I asked for! It has been an indispensable fixture in my kitchen ever since.

    On a separate note – we’re not heading east again until late fall, most likely, and I’ve been thinking about you guys since it’s been a whole year since we invaded your home. Maybe it’s time for you guys to think about coming out this way??? ❤

Leave a Reply

