Seven Angry Justices

I spent most of the day at the Kentucky Supreme Court today. It was the first time I’ve been there since being sworn in as a member of the Kentukcy Bar almost 2 years, so it was super exciting to be there for an oral argument!

Before I oversell this I should explain… I wasn’t arguing in front of the Supreme Court. One of the partners at my firm was and I had helped him prepare for the argument. So, of course I wasn’t going to miss it!

I, obviously, had my camera with me. And I wanted to make a photo record of the event (it’s kinda a big deal to argue in front of the Supreme Court). Unfortunately, I was also in charge in talking to the clients who were to watch. Basically I only took these two before I decided to focus on talking instead of playing with my new camera.

Anyway. The Justices weren’t really angry and it was super fun to watch an argument, listen to the Justices’ questions, and know how to answer them! Of course, I didn’t answer them, but that’s not really the point. Point is, it was a fun day and great experience! I’ll try to remember to update you all on the outcome of the case.

4 thoughts on “Seven Angry Justices

      • Nice! Very cool that you were able to work on a case that’s before the Ky Supremes. [disclaimer: that’s from our court, but I didn’t work on it – just an interested observer!]

      • I know! It was pretty exciting; I wasn’t involved in the brief writing but I helped with oral argument prep. I had forgotten it came from your court-that makes it doubly cool.

Leave a Reply

