Yoga in Summer

I know I’ve mentioned this before, but summertime yoga is uber hot. Really doing anything in the summer is uber hot, but somehow yoga seems worse than most activities. I think it’s heat + inversion that’s not good… but that’s not the point of this.


The point is that I find it pretty hard to keep up a regular practice in the summer. It’s hot (as I mentioned) and it daylight for so long that I have a hard time finding motivation/realizing that it’s late enough for class to actually go to class. Most of the summer, I’ve been having some issues with getting to class and it’s been taking a toll on my wellbeing. And I mean that in all possible ways–physically, mentally, spiritually. I’ve been making a concerted effort to plan for going to yoga and it’s working. I’ve been going more lately and today, I had a really great practice. Meditation at the beginning went really really well. I felt calmer after that than I had in days and, even though I was soaked with sweat at the end of class, I also feel very relaxed, open, focused, and happy.


So… that’s where I am today. Struggling to keep up with something that I know will make me feel better. And succeeding wonderfully…


Upcoming posts to look forward to: (1) the story of Hubby’s first yoga class, (2) iPhone review… with pictures! (3) Pride and Prejudice book review and (4) Adventures in dining out.

Leave a Reply

