I write like…

Raymond Chandler.

I didn’t know who this was so I had to google him. His wikipedia page tells me he wrote pulp fiction and had an immense influence on the private eye genre of novels and films.

You might be wondering why this is even a discussion. Here’s why: this post and this website.Assuming you won’t click thorough to the post, it’s from one of my favorite blogs, The English Muse. Apparently, there’s this obscure website, I Write Like, that analyzes your writing and tells you what famous author you write like. It looks at things like word choice, sentence length, and writing style. A lot of people are getting Dan Brown and it’s caused quite a stir… kinda, I guess.

Anyway, I’m not sure how accurate this site is. While I write like the uber-famous Raymond Chandler, my favorite author, Flannery O’Conner, apparently writes like Daniel Defoe. And Daniel Defoe writes like David Foster Wallace.

So try the site. It’s fun… but maybe take your results with a grain of salt.

One thought on “I write like…

Leave a Reply

