Let’s jam.

I made jam for the first time ever a few weeks ago. It was freezer jam, but it still counts.

I bought a ridiculous amount of strawberries, broke open my trusty Better Homes & Garden’s Cook Book, and got to work. About 10 minutes later, I was filling jars and about 24 hours after that I had jam! It was so easy that I can’t believe I never did it before!

Here’s the recipe:

4 cups berries                      4 cups sugar
1/2 tsp lemon peel                1  1 3/4 oz package powered fruit pectin
3/4 cup water

(1) Use a potato masher to crush berries until there are 2 cups.
(2) Mix berries, sugar, and lemon peel. Let stand for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
(3) Combine pectin and water in small saucepan. Bring to boil for 1 minute stirring constantly.

(4) Remove pectin from heat. Add to berry mixture.

(5)  Stir for 3 minutes or until sugar is dissolved and mixture is no longer grainy.

(6) Ladle into half-pint jars. Leave about 1/2 inch heads pace. Let stand for 24 hours to gel.

et voila! 

Did I mention it was also fantastic? ‘Cause it was.

Leave a Reply

