Settling In


As I’ve mentioned several times, I just started a new job. I blame that for making me completely ignore the blog. But now it’s time to pay the blog a little love and get back in the groove. And, of course, the best way to do that is to talk about my new job!

It’s kinda awesome. I’m a real lawyer these days (meaning I’m actually doing things that get submitted to court instead of just reading what gets submitted) and that’s cool. I love my office and co-workers. My office is exactly decorated yet, but I am slowly settling into it.

There’s pros and cons to any new job and, for this one, there are definitely more pros than cons. But there is one really big con. Well, not even a real con. Just a really really big point of adjustment. I knew going in that my state worker hours were not going to fly in the private arena. What I didn’t know was that it was going to be a difficult transition. Apparently a year of starting work around 9 and leaving at 4:30 on the dot is not an easy habit to break. My firm is not full of slave drivers, but 4:30 is just not a normal time to leave. Nonetheless, my body cannot be convinced of this. Everyday about 4:25 I feel like I need to start getting ready to leave for the day! No matter what I do, no matter how many time I tell myself “It’s not time yet” I still feel like I need to leave. I’m hoping this will stop soon.

One of the more awesome things that my job allows is going to court. And I don’t mean going to observe. I mean going to represent clients. Yep, I got to do that Friday and it was awesome.

I’m settling in, finding a new routine for my life, and it might take a while to make blogging a consistent part of that. But I’m trying. Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Settling In

Leave a Reply

