Cleaning-Out-the-Pantry Cookies

Have you ever looked in your pantry (a term I use loosely to mean the cabinet I shove all my food into) or fridge and I thought, “I really need to use _____”?

A couple of weeks ago, I opened my fridge to find a large  half-empty container of plain yogurt. I don’t like plain yogurt; I got the large to container to make a delicious lemon cake, which was so delicious that I didn’t even get to take any blog pics of it. Anyway, so half of the plain yogurt was still there and I thought, “I should really find something to bake with that since I’ll never eat it otherwise.” So, I then i opened the “pantry” and saw raisins, chocolate chips, and oatmeal and I thought, “I should make a cookie with yogurt, raisins, chocolate chips, and oatmeal!” So I googled all those ingredients and added cookie at the end and found a surprising amount of recipes for raisin, chocolate chip, oatmeal yogurt cookies. I picked one from Happy Tummy and went to work.

The recipe has no eggs or butter and came together very fast (about 10 mins). After about 20 mins in the oven they were done. And they were amazing! The yogurt made them so chewy and moist that it was hard to convince people (mainly my co-workers) that there were relatively healthy cookies.

I’m going to post the recipe below, but if you click the Happy Tummy link, you can check out all the recipes on that blog. The only things I changed about the recipe are (1) I used regular yogurt instead of greek and (2) I used butter instead of oil (I couldn’t find anything other than olive oil in my house). I almost missed this, so I’m going to point it out to you, once the cookies are on the cookie sheet (I lined mine with parchment paper), flatten them. The dough is sticky, so they won’t spread out into cookie shape by themselves. Also my notes on the recipe are in italics.

Recipe: Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Raisin Yogurt Cookies



Adapted from Bob’s Red Mill Baking Book 

Makes approximately 2 dozen cookies

  • 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup unbleached white flour (all-pupose)
  • 1 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 cups brown sugar, packed
  • 2/3 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/4 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt (regular)
  • 1/8 cup canola oil (butter)
Preheat oven to 350°F. Lightly oil 2 baking sheets or line them with parchment paper.
In a large bowl, sift the flours together with the baking powder and cinnamon (I don’t own a sifter, so I just put them in a bowl and whisked them). Whisk in the sugar and oats, then stir in the raisins and chocolate chips. Beat the yogurt with the oil, then add to flour mixture to make a dough.
Roll into small balls and place on the prepared baking sheets. Flatten and bake for 17 to 20 minutes, or until firm and brown. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

