Seriously? Really?


I got a call from my doctor on Tuesday morning. A couple of weeks ago, I had a physical and lots of blood work done. For the first time ever, I also had an EKG. See, I’ve been having some episodes where my heart beats funny. Hard to explain. Just funny. So the EKG was normal and the doctor was calling to tell me that all my blood work came back normal as well. Which sounds like good news, but really it’s not. Since the EKG was normal and the blood work was normal, the doc has no idea what’s causing my heart to beat funny. Eventually I may have to wear a monitor and have an echocardiogram. But for now the solution is to… cut back on caffeine.

This is a huge deal for me. HUGE. To illustrate, the role caffeine plays in my life, here’s a pictorial reconstruction of the phone call between me and the doctor occurring at approximately 12:45 p.m.:

Yes, that’s a very large latte in my hand. My third cup of coffee that day. To further illustrate, the role caffeine plays in my life check out my post labels. You’ll notice there is one called, “caffeine is a necessary for life as water.”

I don’t think it needs to be said, but I have a massive caffeine addiction. Surprising really when you take into consideration the fact that I don’t soft drinks. Really, I only drink coffee and water regularly. Irregularly, I added tea and beer to the mix. But now, I’m going to have cut back. I’m just warning everyone. Now that you know, you should all prepare to have unhappy and dismaying interactions with me.

That is all.

5 thoughts on “Seriously? Really?

  1. You know my love for caffeine and I sympathize for you. But I can teach you how to go down this road as I too have (voluntarily) given up almost all caffeine. I believe the key is cold turkey: this weekend have no caffeine. None. Zero. Zilch. Take a tylenol or two when the headache comes. This will be hard, but can do it. There may be extra yoga this weekend.Monday, get up and stretch. Read something in the morning to get your mind working. Then start the day. No caffeine on Monday.Repeat this process until probably Thursday, then reintroduce caffeine by way of a low-caffeine tea in the morning. Not when you wake up – when you get to work. That is your caffeine allotment. You can do this. After 10 days, I needed an afternoon pickup and I ordered a half-caffeine Americano. Had a hard time getting to sleep that night. My days are better without large doses of caffeine. Yesterday, I drank half a diet Pepsi at 1 p.m. Big mistake. Not tired at bedtime.Best of luck. Also, remember that Roiboos tea (Starbucks has a good vanilla roiboos tea latte, best with soy) is decaf and Cuppa has some amazing herbal and non-caffeinated tea options.

  2. Oh so sorry to hear that. Hope you figure out what is going on. And I agree with PJWB about the non-caff teas! Cuppa has some tisanes, which are my fav!

Leave a Reply

