Coming out

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a while now, but somehow haven’t found the time. I’m a vegetarian.
Whew. 
Glad to have that out in the open. I guess you could say that this is my “why I’m a vegetarian post.” I tend to get a lot of questions when I have dinner with people who don’t know this, so I guess this is just a blanket answer to all of those. 
I became a vegetarian less than a year ago. It actually happened accidentally. Sometime in June, I realized I hadn’t eaten meat in a few weeks and I decided to see how long it would be before I craved meat. Well, it was the day after the bar exam at the end of July. I suddenly wanted some chicken fingers. So I got some. After that it was another few weeks before I wanted meat again. That time it was fried chicken. After that it was another few weeks before I wanted meat. This time it was a burger from Backyard Burger—I don’t think the quality of the burger changed over the course of 6 months or so, but after a summer of eating delicious black bean burgers a regular hamburger was downright bland. That was the last time I’ve eaten meat and it was sometime in October.
Making the switch to a completely meat-free diet was not hard for me. Most of my life, meat has been what vegetables are to other people: a side dish. But for some people in my life, namely the Hubby and Dad, it’s a huge deal. Dad is convinced that there is no possible way a person can live without meat; he thinks I’m on some sort of hunger strike or something. The Hubby seems to think that I’ve done this as a personal attack on him. I didn’t and while he thinks he eats less meat now, I think it’s about the same or even a little more. It’s true that most of the meals I make are vegetarian, but I always add meat to his portions and buy meat or things with meat in it for him. Not to mention that when we visit out parents, meaty leftovers are sent home because, as my mom said, She’s starving you! 
Why does all this matter to you? I’m sure that it actually doesn’t, but it’s kinda a big deal in my life and I just wanted to share. Vegetarians have kinda a bad reputation and I don’t really know why, but I’m sure that we’ll have a post/comment discussion about it soon. In the meantime, I have to get back to starving my husband (not actually a joke tonight—we had popcorn and cupcakes for dinner)!
2 thoughts on “Coming out

  1. Congrats on being "out of the closet." I'm sure it is liberating!That said, my sister was a vegetarian for years (though she returned to a limited meat diet a few years ago). Veggies are delicious and I can be happy eating a filet, a veggie pasta dish or vegan (soy) chicken. I'm happy as long as the food is good!That said, next time you wanna split a veggie $5 footlong, I'm game. And you aren't starving anyone… M. and I often eat a veggie meal by default.

  2. Pingback: Oh. My. God. I’m a hipster. « Falling in Dead Level

Leave a Reply

