Nature is a giver, a true friend, and a sustainer

I’m an environmentalist. I don’t know if you’ve noticed that or if I’ve mentioned it before, but it’s true. I’ve been an environmentalist since I was a kid and honestly I don’t understand why everyone isn’t into conservation, etc. I really just don’t get it—recycling doesn’t take a lot of effort and reusing things takes zero effort. I have a theory. Protecting the environment has become a political issue, and, I think, people who might otherwise say “you know what? I really like to see trees and having clean drinking water, maybe I shouldn’t be so wasteful” are instead thinking “if I buy an aluminum water bottle, I’m a communist.”

Anyway, the title of this post was on my yogi tea tag and it made me think about why I’m an environmentalist. To be short and sweet, the reason is that I believe the title. I grew up in the Appalachian mountains in southeastern Kentucky and I spent a lot of my childhood hiking the mountain behind my house. By no means am I a crazy survivorman type of hiker, but I spent a large amount of time in nature and I learned a lot from being in nature. It’s easy to forget, in our modern lives, that we couldn’t live without the things we get from the earth (like oxygen). So this particular cup of tea reminded me that sometimes I just need to appreciate the simple and forgotten things in life.

Leave a Reply

