Happy Valentine’s Day!


Valentine’s Day is not my holiday. I think it’s overrated and creates expectations that no one can live up to; I mean, has anyone in the history of mankind ever bought a diamond ring/necklace/tiara/earrings, hid it in a glass of champagne meant to be drank in a hot deliciously scented bubble bath in a heart shaped tub, in front of a blazing fire, in a room sprinkled with the petals of 12 dozen roses and 2 dozen still intact roses?

I seriously doubt it. But that’s the sort of thing that people expect out of Valentine’s Day and that’s why everyone, and I mean everyone, is disappointed on Valentine’s Day.

This year, though, I’m taking a different approach to Valentine’s Day. Instead of hating it or hoping for some grand gesture of love, I’m just doing all I can to enjoy the day and show that I appreciate my husband.

Oh… and this, one of my favorite poems and musings on love:


LOVE is anterior to life,
Posterior to death,
Initial of creation, and
The exponent of breath.

-Emily Dickinson


 

One thought on “Happy Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

