The Olympics!

The Olympics start tonight and I have a confession to make: I don’t really enjoy the Olympics that much.

When I was younger, I, of course, loved the figure skating and gymnastics and bobsledding (Cool Runnings, anyone?). But I’ve felt a general disappointment with the Olympics in recent years.

This year, though, I’m a little excited. Partially because they’re in Vancouver (a place I’ve always wanted to visit) and partially because I just became aware of some super cool winter Olympic sports: Skeleton and Curling… what are these sports?!? I really want to find out, so I plan on watching the Olympics this year. 
More importantly, I’m going to be participating in The Knitting Olympics, which is an event publicized by The Yarn Harlot. The rules are pretty simple. You just have to cast on your project during the opening ceremonies, and the project has to be something that will challenge you and you have to finish by the closing ceremony. I’m excited. I’m going to be making a pair of socks. I’ve never made a pair before despite the gentle urging of my cousin, Jill, who supplied me with sock yarn, needles, and a book about knitting socks about 4 months ago. So, I’m finally giving in and joining the sock knitting cult. 

Leave a Reply

