You must immediately read this book. Seriously.

    I just finished reading “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett. It’s the best book that I’ve read in a long time. In fact, it’s the first book that has moved me in any way since “The Road” by Cormac McCarthy. “The Help” touched me in a proud-shocked-I-must-fight-injustice kind of way, not an I-no-longer-have-faith-in-humanity-and-see-no-reason-to-continue-living sort of way like “”The Road.”

  
I bought this book yesterday after feeling a profound sadness at the thought of leaving it behind in Barnes and Noble. Thanks to a book review from SSW at Les Fins des Haricots and a couple of Facebook raves from other friends, I knew I wanted to read it. If you haven’t heard the buzz, click here for SSW’s review. I picked it up and read a couple of chapters while drinking tea and hanging out with Hubby, who was reading Robert Jordan’s “The Gathering Storm.” Clearly Hubby and I enjoy reading different sorts of books. I stayed up until nearly 3 am (whoa!) reading this and got up to finish it early this morning. The last time I did that was when I read “Twilight”. Don’t judge me! It was in law school and I needed something horribly entertaining, thoughtless, and easy to read! I’ve just handed “The Help” off to Hubby. I’m hoping he’ll forget the “Twilight” debacle (yes, I tried to make him read Twilight) and actually read it.

I don’t want to oversell this book, but I really don’t think it’s an exaggeration for me to say “this is the best book of the year.” No, that’s not because today is the 2nd of January. I’m confident that on the 31st of December, I’ll be saying the same thing.

2 thoughts on “You must immediately read this book. Seriously.

Leave a Reply

