Let’s play house!

Whenever I start talking about having a home yoga practice it makes me think about “playing house” when I was a kid. There’s really no connection between the two; My home yoga practice doesn’t involve a fake kitchenette and moss and grass as food and I certainly wasn’t flying into crow pose under my back patio when I was 6.

It’s just the phraseology that’s sends me onto these mental tangents. Here’s another example. At work the other day, I was reviewing a very very very boring case involving some equine interests and more obscure than usual legal doctrines. In the middle of a motion for summary judgment, which almost put me to sleep I was reading very carefully, I came across a sentence that read something like this: “Blah blah blah, as all horsepeople know, yadda yadda yadda.” Horsepeople? I read it again. It did indeed say “horsepeople.” And suddenly, the entire case got a lot more interesting. I mean, it now involved centaurs! How is that not interesting? Even if all the centaurs were doing is sitting around reading stock reports, it’s worth paying attention to. Now clearly there were no actual centaurs; the author was trying to say that all people who are in the horse business know something totally and completely random and obscure that the rest of us non-centaurs have no idea exists. At least I think that’s what they were trying to get at. Is the term “horsepeople” accepted in the equine industry? Or did this person just make up the term to catch the judges poor under worked law clerk off guard?

I digress… But I am really interested about this whole “horsepeople” thing, so if anyone knows about this, clue me in. Anyway, the point of this post was to let you guys in on some very important news. I have mastered the art of the home practice!

Three times in the last 4 or 5 days, I’ve managed to practice yoga at home. It may be more fitting to call what I’m doing doga. Seriously, the dogs have decided to stop trying to lay on the mat and start imitating down dog. They even lay with their heads on my knees when I’m centering and it’s actually very calming to feel warm furriness under my palms instead of my bony knees. I guess I just had to stop fighting it and just let them get used to me being on the floor. I’ve found a couple of good (free!) podcasts with full classes that I’ve been doing; if you’re interested, they’re yoga today, 20 minute yoga download, and yoga journal.

The home practice is definitely not perfect, but I feel like I’ve cleared a hurdle by managing it a few times. It’s only a matter of time before I have a daily home practice! That being said, the studio is still my favorite way to go… it’s just a more serene environment.

Namaste!

One thought on “Let’s play house!

  1. Pingback: Good Morning Yoga « Falling in Dead Level

Leave a Reply

