Working the Blind

I sometimes wonder how other people see the world. I mean this quite literally… I have very bad eyesight and always have. So I have wondered since I was a child, if the things that I see are the same things that others see. I know that the answer is almost definitely yes, but still I wonder. Especially lately. A recent trip to the optometrist confirmed two things: My eyesight is indeed getting worse and, due to some very very dry eyes, I can’t wear contacts for a while. I’m sure you don’t want to hear about my trials and tribulations concerning getting new glasses, so I’ll get to the point: It’s hard to do yoga while wearing glasses.

So a couple a days ago, I did a class blind. Not literally. I can see things like colors, light, and shapes without my glasses, but not facial expressions and small movements. I was a little wary of doing this, but after about 5 minutes I realize that I don’t actually need to see what the teacher is doing, I just need to follow the verbal cues. So that’s what I did. For an hour and 15 minutes. And it was great! There’s something about not actually seeing what’s going on around you, that gives you a new perspective on things. As an added bonus, not being able to see what was going on around me eliminated any sort of problems with competition I might have been having and REALLY increased my focus. I left that class feeling more relaxed and zen than ever before.

Bottom line: Try this! If you’re not almost blind like me, try wearing an eye mask. It really is great and I can’t really explain the feeling, you just have to do it.

One thought on “Working the Blind

Leave a Reply

