What I’ve been reading lately

The last few weeks have been an amazing time. I’ve been reading. Fiction. For fun. At one time in my life this was the norm. But then law school intervened and I started reading court cases for school. Not fun.

Now that law school is nothing but a dark chapter in my past, I’m rediscovering my love of reading. I’m currently reading Les Miserables. Of course, Les Miserables is a little heavy, and I mean that on two levels–it’s a little heavy intellectually and a LOT heavy in weight, so I’m also reading The Blind Assassin. Unfortunately, I tend to forget The Blind Assassin at work, so when I was the library on Saturday, I picked up a few more books. One of them The Trials of the Honorable F. Darcy, I started and finished on Sunday. It was billed as a modern Pride and Prejudice. I can’t really say anything about that other than, if Pride and Prejudice was a trashy romance novel, then this is indeed a modern day Pride and Prejudice. It wasn’t a bad book, but it certainly wasn’t good either.

You may find this hard to believe, but I’m actually reading yet another book. Origins of the Specious: Myths and Misconceptions of the English Language. I have not-so-secretly always loved speculating about the origin of words and phrases. When I was in college (as an English major, for all those who didn’t know that) one of the required classes was English Grammar. I wasn’t that excited about this class because I strongly suspected that it was going be a LOT of sentence diagramming and the like. Lucky for me, the proffessor I took was actually more into linguistics than grammar. So my English Grammar class was actually more of an intro to linguistics class and I LOVED it. This book Origins of the Specious is a lot like that class. It’s full of explanations for words, why some grammar rules exists, how English evolved as a language. In other words, its all the things that my dork-inner-academic drools over. 

If you’re interested in what I’m reading these days, I’ll try to update the blog periodically, but I also have a goodreads profile that I update fairly often. I don’t always have the best  taste in books.  You know how there’s a group of people who love craptastic TV? Well, I’m one of those people who like craptastic fiction. So I may not always reccommend books that are good literature, but I’ll always reccomend something fun!

And here’s todays fun recommendation–the Twilight series! It’s not well written, espouses anti-feminist values, and has improbable-even-for-fantasy-plot twists. But it’s actually a pretty good romance-but-not-sex based-novel (especially the first) and they are all tons of fun!

Hope I have helped you pick something to read… Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

