Fall Creations

My CSAis coming to an end this week. I’m pretty sad about it. There’s a winter season for the CSA too, but we’ve decided not to join. It was a tough decision, but ultimately I’m not the biggest fan of winter vegetables and I think a lot of it would go to waste. Regardless, I’m a little sad that I’ll have to spend the winter shopping for my vegetables like everyone else.

Anyway, this weekend I tried a new recipe involving butternut squash. Now generally I’m not the biggest fan of butternut squash (or acorn squash) because most of the time the recipes are too sweet for my taste, but in last weeks CSA we got a gigantic butternut squash. So Saturday night, I decided to try to make something with it.  While I was at the library on Saturday morning, I picked up a book called Go Green, Get Lean and that’s where I found a delicious recipe.
Side note about Go Green, Get Lean: Interesting book. The premise is that the typical American diet is bad for your health and the health of the environment. It was written by a dietitian so it’s a very nutritionally sound diet. It has some pretty interesting facts about how and why the American diet is bad for the environment. My only beef with the book is that it has some interesting facts, good nutritional advice, and tasty recipes, but I really don’t know that anyone who wasn’t already living a “green” lifestyle would pick up this book.
Anyway, I made a recipe from this book on Saturday night. It was titled Autumn Squash with Pinto Beans Chili. I really don’t want to type out the recipe (or violate copyright law by copying and pasting it from amazon). So, if you’re interested, you can find the recipe by going to amazon.com, searching Go Green, Get Lean, and then going to page 263 of that book. I highly recommend this recipe. It includes cinnamon, so I was worried that it was gong to be too sweet. But there was just enough paprika (and a dash of crushed red pepper flakes added by moi) to make it spicy sweet.  I also made the corn muffin recipe in the same book( I added fresh corn to the batter). They went great together!
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

