Beet Salad

I’ve never been a big fan of beets. Beets, served anyway imaginable, are among the many many food injuries inflicted on me by my grandmother. I know that most people have only fond memories of their grandmother’s cooking: Christmas cookies, chicken and dumplings, baked goods of all kind….

My memories of my Granny’s (yes, I called her Granny) cooking is more like fried potatoes swimming in lard, cooked cabbage swimming in lard, vegetable soup with lard floating on top… You get the point, she used a lot of lard. As a result, I grew up thinking that I didn’t like a lot of foods (I think it was the feeling that I needed to vomit after eating things she made that led to that). Beets are on that list.

Since I joined the CSA this year, I’ve been eating a lot of vegetables that I hadn’t even tried after seeing them drowning in thier lard ponds as a child. I was pleasently surprised to find that turnips are not bad, squash is good, cucumbers are tasty, and cabbage is, well, edible. Not surprisingly brussel sprouts and okra are still gross. Really gross. Beets, on the other hand, are pretty good.

Last night I made a Beet Salad. It was delicious and I can’t wait to have the leftovers for dinner tonight! I wish I had taken a picture for you all, but I didn’t. I’m including the recipe. If you decide to make this, keep in mind that I included all the optional ingredients (except chives, because I didn’t have any) even dill. FYI–Dill is another food injury curtesy of Granny. Dill pickling incident gone bad. Anway, enjoy the Beet Salad!
Here’s the recipe, from World’s Healthiest Foods:

3 medium beets, about 3″ in diameter
1 medium clove garlic, pressed or chopped
2 tsp fresh lemon juice
1 TBS balsamic vinegar
3 TBS extra virgin olive oil
sea salt and cracked black pepper to taste
Optional:
1 TBS balsamic vinegar
10 fresh basil leaves, chopped
1 TBS chopped dill
1 TBS chopped chives
2 TBS Feta cheese

Directions:
(1) Fill the bottom of a steamer with 2 inches of water.
(2) While the water is coming to a boil, wash beets, leaving 2 inches of tap root and 1 inch of the stem on the beets. Cut beets into quarters. Do not peel.
(3) Steam covered for 15 minutes. Beets are cooked when you can easily insert a fork on the tip of a knife into the beet.
(4) Press or chop garlic and let sit for 5 minutes to bring out their health-promoting properties.
(5) Peel beets using a paper towel. This didn’t really work out that well for me. I ended up using a veggie peeler and having purple stained hands.
(6) Transfer beets to a bowl and toss with remaining ingredients while they are still hot.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Beet Salad

  1. This reminds me of a lunch-time trip to bar review, when I returned with a bag of fruits and veggies. A great number of questions regarding beets and beet greens ensued. Both are immeasurably delicious!

  2. Mmm. I love beets, so I will definitely try that recipe next season. Are you in the Elmwood Stockfarm CSA? We are doing their fall share, and I am very excited about getting fresh veggies and local meat. Love the blog!

  3. Kaintuckeen, I think of you every time I eat beets! Which is twice now. 🙂 SSW, Thanks! Yes we are doing the Elmwood CSA. I really like it and I'm sure you will love it too!

Leave a Reply

