Infomercial Love

Have I ever mentioned how much I love infomercials? If not, let me take this oppotunity to do so.

I LOVE info-mercials.

I know most people find them to be extremely boring and annoying, but I think that they are possibly the most entertaining things on t.v. late at night. Maybe my love is partially nostalgia for my college days when my sorority sisters and I would spend late nights chatting and listening to proactiv, magic bullet, and bare minerals commercials.

Or maybe, just maybe, my love of infomercials comes from an appreciation of their ridiculousness. There are so many things that I find entertaining, but the one thing that is uniform in all infomercials is this: no matter what the product, no matter what task the product will replace, the infomercial makes it clear that the task is nearly impossible to perform without this product.

I just saw an infomercial for a car windshield cleaner. Until that moment I didn’t realize how very impossible it was to clean the inside of your cars windshield. But now I know that it’s possible to clean your windshield without even leaning forward! I had the same epiphany when I first saw the snuggie commercial, up until that time I was compleltly unaware that there was a better was to stay warm than simply putting on a sweater or wrapping up in a blanket.

On this nice Sunday morning, lets all take a moment to appreciate the infomercial. Because without infomercials there would be nothing to distract us from truly terrible t.v. like Tool Academy.

Leave a Reply

