I’m a bad, bad girl

There’s recently been quite a bit of upheaval in my life and some things have been suffering as a result. I haven’t been blogging, I haven’t been going to yoga class, I haven’t been eating right. And my body is suffering–I guess the lack of blogging probably hasn’t really affected my body, it’s not like it a physical addiction or anything.

Anyway, I’ve really been off my game lately when it comes to life. Which has made me think about survival vs. living. I was always taught that cultural activities (painting, drama, literature, fashion, and all that other fun stuff) didn’t really get their start until mankind was well-enough established that their entire existence wasn’t dedicated to things like hunting, gathering, fighting off carnivorous animals. It seems to me that sometimes, while not as obviously life-threatening as having to spear a panther in the middle of the night, life is so difficult that the focus shifts from living your life to just surviving it.

That’s what been going on with me lately. There’s a lot of emotional drama going on right now and it seems like instead of living my life, I’ve just been focusing surviving emotionally. And it occurs to me that maybe if I stop worrying so much about how I’m going to make it through this and just keep on living life, I will make it through and it’ll be a lot easier.

So that’s what I’m doing starting…. now!

I know this post isn’t really my cup of tea, but I had this epiphany while stuck in traffic this afternoon and wanted to share. I’m not sure how this… “experiment” of living as a way of healing emotional wounds and dealing with major life changes will go, but I’ll keep you informed. If you have any tips or thoughts, let me know!

P.S. The title of this post is the first line of one of my favorite songs of all time. Check out the video here.

Leave a Reply

