My New Hobby

 
That’s right. I’ve started running jogging walking-quickly-and-occasionally-breaking-into-a-slight-jog.  This is something that I’ve tried to do many many many many many (to the bazillionth power) times. Jogging/running that is. I think my current style of exercise will eventually lead to total jogging, then to complete running.
I’ve always wanted to be one of those girls you see effortless running on the sidewalk completely oblivious to everything around them. No matter how many times I’ve tried (and its been a lot) I’ve never been able to do it. Thiere is actually no explanation that I can see for this failure. I’m not an unhealthy person, I’m not out of shape. Even before I started doing yoga regularly (and continuing throughout that) I went to the gym for cardio and weights at least three times a week. But even though I can take an hour at high intensity elliptical-ing I’ve never actually been able to run. And it’s not that I find it very much harder than the elliptical machine, I think it’s about the same level of intensity. So why then have I been a dedicated gym go-er for seven or eight years but have never been able to run? 
I have no answer to that… I guess it, like the Sphinx’s riddle, is an unsolvable mystery. But now that I have no free access to a gym, I’ve bought a treadmill. And treadmill’s don’t elliptical. So, I am determined to become a runner. Because if not, I’m going to get really bored just walking to nowhere on that thing. 
Have a great weekend!
One thought on “My New Hobby

  1. Pingback: 2012: My top 5 list | Falling in Dead Level

Leave a Reply

