Where has the time gone?

It seems like it was just yesterday that I last posted, but looking back it’s actually been a very long time. I know you have all been waiting with bated breath to hear what I have to say next… and, honestly, I have so much to say I’m not sure where to start.

I guess we’ll just start with this past weekend. It was a beautiful weekend here in Kentucky. It’s August and usually in Kentucky that means stifling hot temperatures, humidity levels so high that the air literally feels dense and damp, 100% chance of thunderstorms and 0% chance of enjoying anything outside a dehumidified and highly air-conditioned space. But this weekend was amazing. The middle of August felt surprising like the end of September; the mornings were slightly chilly, the afternoons and evenings were warmer but there was still a chill in the air.

The weekend started out pretty terrible. On Friday, the bear dogs and their voracious appetite-for-all-things-that-dogs-should-never-eat struck again. While the Hubby was out playing Frisbee golf, one or both of the bear dogs knocked the new extra-large container of Folgers from the counter. Of course, the lid did not stay on the can. And, of course, all of the best-part-of-waking-up (imagine me singing Folger’s theme extremely off tune) spilled onto the floor. Initially, the Hubby thought that the small indentions in the pile where dog nose prints and that they had just spilled the coffee and walked away.

I suspected otherwise. I not sure why, but I believe the extreme hyper-ness of the bear cub (aka the tea party participant) may have tipped my off. The suspicions were confirmed when she later and quite suddenly projectile vomited coffee grounds three times in a row.A call to the doggy ER, which is permanently stored in my phone, revealed that there was no need to bring her in unless she started pacing and/or having seizures. Not exactly the calming advice I was looking for, so the Hubby and I spent the rest of the night waiting for the bear cub to start seizing. The most interesting thing that happened though was that she feel asleep with her eyes open (snoring and all).

You might be wondering why we weren’t that concerned about the larger bear dog. Good question. Easy answer: To date, the bear dog has eaten a large bag of bite size Reese’s cups, an entire apple pie, about a bushel of apples, an entire bag of carrots, a hot pepper, peaches, an entire watermelon, spinach, full packages of saltine crackers, a bag of lime flavored tortilla chips, and half a pound of crunchy peanut butter. Oh and a pack of orbit gum. It was only that last one that sent her to the doggie ER.

Saturday was a better day though. I know it’s because the day started with me attending a free outdoor yoga class in a local park. It was a perfect morning. I didn’t expect that the morning would be so cool, but I was pleasantly surprised. And I was even more surprised when I got to the class and found out that it was being taught by one of my regular teachers and, even better, it was a yin yoga class! When I started doing yin yoga, I wasn’t that sure about it. It’s a much slower pace than my normal vinyasana classes and I find it a lot more difficult. Not really physically, but mentally. In yin yoga, you hold poses for a long time, usually about 3 minutes, so you have a lot of time to contemplate things during that time. Or at least I do. The point is actually to meditate while holding those poses. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m really bad at meditating. Really really bad. Meditating makes me a little nauseous. And I don’t think that’s normal… anyway, despite this I really like yin yoga and I was actually really excited to do it on Saturday morning. Apparently that’s exactly what I needed to start my weekend out on the right foot, because despite the fact that, thanks to the bear dogs, I had had no coffee before class, I left class feeling clearheaded and wide awake. And that feeling lasted all day long!

I spent the rest of Saturday outside, doing some much needed cleaning inside, and ended the day having dinner and drinks with some friends. Which brings me to another point: I love drinking outside. Something about sitting outside with a drink, friends, and not-too-loud music just makes me feel really really happy. Also, the bar we went to may become my new favorite.

Sunday I woke up early. I’m not sure why. I wanted to sleep late, but I woke up at 8 a.m. And I’m glad I did, maybe if I had slept late I would have missed the beautiful September-like morning and the how playful it made the dogs. I went to another yoga class Sunday morning. This one mostly focused on meditation and I am getting better at it. I spent most of the meditation time slightly aggravated instead of nauseous. I think that’s an improvement. The rest of the practice was great. I even did full pigeon for a minute! The rest of the day was just a great. I read a book outside while enjoying the weather and just generally relaxed. It was just what I needed.

A lot has happened during my blog break and over the next few days, I’ll fill everyone in on my new insights. Have a great night!

Leave a Reply

