I’m just a studying fool

I was laying in bed the other night, fighting insomnia yet again, when it occurred to me that I have been a student for most of my life. I’m 26 years old and I started pre-school at age 3. So for the last 23 years of my life, I have been studying something.

I don’t want this to sound like a compliant. It’s not at all. I actually love learning and actually, I love school. I was that kid in elementary school who played school after school was over. And, since my mom was a teacher, I did it the right way. After school was over, and while my mom was doing whatever it was she did for 3 hours every day after school, I would force my sister, my cousins, and all the other teacher’s kids to sit in an unused classroom while I “taught” them subjects that varied by the day. Usually, it was Kentucky history or spelling, since those were two subjects eliminated by KERA and KIRIS there were entire sets of unused books just laying around, but sometimes we did art or English. I even had an attendance and grade book! Usually my “lessons” only lasted about 20 minutes or so, because the other kids would revolt and suddenly our spelling bee would become a colored chalk art competition.

With that love for learning and “teaching” you would think that I would have chosen education as a career path. And I almost did. Alas, education was not educational enough for me. See I love learning so much, that I didn’t want to learn how to teach people to learn things, I just wanted to learn about things. So in college, I studied lots of things and when I graduated with my B.A., I decided that I hadn’t covered quite enough ground, so I went back for another B.A. That one pretty much cured me of undergrad, and I was beginning to realize that eventually I was going to need a career and that degrees in English/American Literature and French weren’t going to provide one.

So, that’s how I became a law student and why I’m now stuck in the hell that is bar review. The good news is that while law school didn’t stifle my love of learning it did stifle my love of school. I won’t be going back again. Or at least not until dementia sets in and makes me forget all about how law school led me to have nightmares about being called on in class.

Instead, I assume, I will just satiate my love of learning with other pursuits. After the bar, maybe I’ll brush up on my French, which hasn’t gotten much use in the last three years, but did come in handy during torts and real property. Somehow being able to translate legal doctrines from their French roots, par example, life estate pur autre vie, made me feel more confident. Or maybe I’ll find something completely new to keep me busy. After all that’s how I became a student of yoga in the first place.

 

Leave a Reply

