An Open Letter to the Hubby

In the vein of my good friend (and possibly my only reader) Peter, I have decided to write an open letter to my husband. Peter, over at the Kaintuckeean, has written to open letters to our representatives in Congress as of late. Unlike the Kaintuckeean, I’m not at all politically minded and I don’t really know what the purpose of an open letter is. Really, all I know about open letters is that Tori Spelling and her mom send them to each other a lot to remind the world that they hate each other. So, I guess the purpose is to grab attention when it has been diverted to much more important and interesting topics?

But, I digress. Even though I don’t really know what the actual purpose of an open letter, I’m using this an opportunity to express my gratitude for my husband.

Dear Husband,

I know I’ve been a horrendous bitch the last few weeks. I would like to take this opportunity, in front of the wide community of readers that I have, to say “thank you for putting up with me.” I’ve been snappy and sniping and quick to find fault in everything and you, for the most part, have taken this all in stride. Thank you for not letting this upcoming bar exam completely ruin our marriage.

If not for you, I would have dissolved into a crying mess of a human being when the fridge started freezing everything. Oh wait. That actually happened. But it would have lasted longer and I would have actually contacted the bar examiners with my resignation, if you hadn’t forced me to leave the house, watch “The Hangover” again, and consume several beers. Thanks. I needed that. And, if not for you, I would have forgotten that some things in life, namely personal hygiene, eating, and walking the dogs, can’t be laid aside in times of great stress.

So, thank you again. You truly are making this experience slightly bearable. If not for your understanding and love, I probably would have confined myself to the library with no personal contract with other human beings weeks ago. Thanks for being always there and making me not a hermit.

Love you lots!

One thought on “An Open Letter to the Hubby

  1. Pingback: Why? Just… why? | Falling in Dead Level

Leave a Reply

