Is Something Really Impromptu if it’s Reported on CNN beforehand?

<!–
/* Font Definitions */
@font-face
{font-family:”Cambria Math”;
panose-1:2 4 5 3 5 4 6 3 2 4;
mso-font-charset:1;
mso-generic-font-family:roman;
mso-font-format:other;
mso-font-pitch:variable;
mso-font-signature:0 0 0 0 0 0;}
@font-face
{font-family:Calibri;
panose-1:2 15 5 2 2 2 4 3 2 4;
mso-font-charset:0;
mso-generic-font-family:swiss;
mso-font-pitch:variable;
mso-font-signature:-1610611985 1073750139 0 0 159 0;}
/* Style Definitions */
p.MsoNormal, li.MsoNormal, div.MsoNormal
{mso-style-unhide:no;
mso-style-qformat:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
margin-top:0in;
margin-right:0in;
margin-bottom:10.0pt;
margin-left:0in;
line-height:115%;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:11.0pt;
font-family:”Calibri”,”sans-serif”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:Calibri;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}
.MsoChpDefault
{mso-style-type:export-only;
mso-default-props:yes;
mso-ascii-font-family:Calibri;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:Calibri;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-hansi-font-family:Calibri;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-bidi-font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-bidi-theme-font:minor-bidi;}
.MsoPapDefault
{mso-style-type:export-only;
margin-bottom:10.0pt;
line-height:115%;}
@page Section1
{size:8.5in 11.0in;
margin:1.0in 1.0in 1.0in 1.0in;
mso-header-margin:.5in;
mso-footer-margin:.5in;
mso-paper-source:0;}
div.Section1
{page:Section1;}
–>

That’s what I wondered when I saw this headline “Jackson Fans to Stage Impromptu London Concert.” After the reading the article, I can answer the question with “yes, apparently something can receive international media coverage and still be impromptu.” Now, this post could easily become a rant about the terrible grammatical, syntactical, and definitional errors used by American’s in general (and yes, I’m guilty too, but my offenses are misdemeanors compared to others), but we’ll save that for another day. 
The real point of this post is how 24/7 access to “news” is ruining my life. It’s been a fairly productive morning for me. I haven’t actually started studying yet, but I did make breakfast (eggs, homemade bread with onion spread and goat cheese, and I even fried some bacon for the hubby), read the local newspaper, and did a quick scan of my favorite website. Which is why I decided to post this. 
Do we really need to know everything that is going on in every remote corner of the world at all times of the day? I think not. And in fact, I find it a little stressful and depressing. Here’s a headline from the front page of the local newspaper “SEC TV landscape is different: ESPN now network of choice.” Not only do I not care where SEC sports games are broadcast, but aren’t there more important things going on the world today? Like, I don’t know, the Sonia Sotomayer confirmation hearings? Apparently, the SEC sports network switch is more important here. But at least the Sotomayer confirmation hearings are top priority over at cnn. Although anything about Michael Jackson, any random persons views on Sarah Palin, and a story about some guy building a castle by hand are all close seconds. 
And here’s the bottom line. I don’t care about Michael Jackson. I really am not interested in what someone who once saw Sarah Palin grocery shopping has to say about her resignation. And, really? A story about a guy building a castle by hand. Really? Coverage of things like this just stress me out. And I don’t think this is because it’s only 15 days until the bar exam. Coverage of all this minutiae makes me feel like I should know all of this and spend seven hours a day (approximately) trolling the newspaper and websites so to learn every possible thing I can about a brothel that was opened to raise money for the Olympics.
So this is me saying to hell with 24/7 news. I have better things to do, not to mention my own life to lead and my own headlines to make. That’s essentially what all this “news” is doing to us. We’re all so worried about what some farmer in Russia just tweeted that we don’t have time to actually do anything in our own lives. Well. I’m done with all that. 
Here’s some news from my own life. I’m studying for the bar exam. It’s in 15 days. I spend approximately 10 hours a day studying and taking practice tests. I’m marginally getting better. The other hours of my day are spent eating, walking my dogs, going to the gym or doing yoga, and sleeping. Not as interesting as “roller girls chase people with bats” but that’s the news from my life. 
You stay classy, San Francisco.
One thought on “Is Something Really Impromptu if it’s Reported on CNN beforehand?

Leave a Reply

