Storms and Rainbows

Earlier today, when I was thinking about what to blog about today, I had thought that I would write about my new-found vegeterianism or maybe about the evolution of my yoga practice.

Then I went to yoga class. There was nothing really special about the class; I’ve been to that class at least a dozen times before. But I’ve never been to that class in the middle of a thunderstorm before. I’m not sure why this changed things. Maybe its was the circular second-floor window and skylight filled studio. Or maybe it was that I’m a little afraid of storms. Okay, more than a little afraid but getting into that will take us sooo far off-track.

I don’t know why this happened but something about the energy of the storm and tone of the class that made me feel amazingly confident and calm. And believe me, calm during a storm doesn’t really happen for me. Ever. When I went into my first warrior II and heard the thunder rolling as I extended my arms, I felt such an intense feeling of empowerment. Warrior II is probably my favorite pose and I always feel very strong when I practice it, but this was just an almost indescribable feeling. From that point on in the class, I was going farther than normal in my poses, using less props, and trying things I don’t normally try. All in all, it went really well.

Who would have thought a thunderstorm would have that effect on me?

Oh, and on my way out of the studio, I saw a double rainbow. It was as if the world was telling me that at the end of the storm, there’s light and beauty. Not exactly the most insightful reading of a rainbow sign, but I’ve  got a difficult 6 weeks ahead of me and I really am going to need to focus on the light at the end of the terrible storm that is the bar exam.

Leave a Reply

